Trash Talk and a gift for you!

ok, first a little sponsorship promo followed by my gift to you!

Some of you have already seen my little project to raise money for a start-up recycling/ garbage program here.  If you are like me and grew up in a country where littering is an offence, and recylcing is just second-nature, you would be feel as disturbed as I do with the state, or lack of, garbage/litter/recycling education here. 

If you hate littering as much as I do, them you understand the feeling when you see someone roll down their car window and throw out a gum wrapper, or fast-food container (those are the worst for some reason!) onto the road…yes, you GASP in horror and frantically look around wondering where the hell the police are when you need them – someone just littered! You feel like they may as well have come into your house and thrown their garbage on your living room floor, that’s how violated you feel!  Well, now imagine living somewhere where everyone is the guy throwing his litter out the car window, or on the sidewalk or in the river.  That’s what it’s like here.  SO, we have to try and do something about it.  Please read my little sales pitch and consider making a small donation, or just forwarding it on.  Every little bit helps!!  Thanks for your time

Click here for more info:
keep Sumatra clean!

image

Moving on from garbage… it’s time for less talking and more photos.

After some FIERCE calculations, I have totalled all my time spent in Indonesia over the past three years, and as of next week, I’ll be at 52 weeks! one whole year.  In honour of this milestone, I wanted to go over all of my photos and weed them down to 52 special pics. I can’t say they are the 52 best or my 52 favourite, but they are 52 photos I love.

I’ve spent a lot ot time here and that’s because I love it here – obvi! Imagine, in one year I haven’t spent one night sitting alone lying on the couch watching tv and stuffing myself with chips! and that’s not just because I don’t have a couch or tv, it’s because I don’t want to! Here there is a sense of community, people to see, wandering to do, you walk out your door and your friends are always nearby! it’s such a pleasant change.

And as much as I love to talk about jungle stuff, there’s also many other great things about Indonesia.  It’s quirky, it’s weird, it’s backward, but it’s so alive!  -Yes Indonesia has it’s problems, many, and big ones, but this place is a magnet for me.  So I love to go over my photos now and then to be reminded of all the awesome things I’ve seen and done here, the things that have made me happy, made me sad, made me angry, made me think, and made me forget! 

I have gone over my thousands of photos and picked out these 52 to share with you (and also because my tablet and SD card memories are almost running out so I really needed to delete some stuff and get this done!). For every photo, 5 others that made the first cut were discarded…so this actually ended up being kind of stressful because so much is missing eek! Many of these have been posted in previous blogs, but many will be new for some of you. Here they are – enjoy!
image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

And yes, there may have been a couple extra in there!

Thank you for looking….and remember….the garbage…please share if you can or make a small donation. We will love you forever!!  πŸ™‚

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Trash Talk and a gift for you!

  1. Not even sure how I got to your blog, but I love that you’re so passionate about Indonesia. It’s very rare that I find a fellow bule so enthusiastic about travelling around this place! I still don’t get why there are so few of us compared to other countries in Southeast Asia. We get it all to ourselves. πŸ™‚

    • Terima Kasih Adam! I totally agree, but I like that it hasn’t become over-touristy, or touristy at all in most places, that’s partly why I like it so much πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.